Tuesday, August 20, 2013

WILLA Award™ Winners!

Pam Tartaglio, 2013 Chair for the WILLA Literary Awards™for Women Writing the West, announces the Winners and Finalists for this year's 15th Annual WILLA Awards™. Drum roll, please!


Historical Fiction

WinnerTrue Sisters by Sandra Dallas (St. Martin’s Press)
FinalistTributary by Barbara K. Richardson (Torrey House Press)
FinalistDance with a Gunfighter by Joanne Pence (Quail Hill Publishing)

Contemporary Fiction

WinnerTheft by BK Loren (Counterpoint Press)
FinalistA Growing Season by Sue Boggio and Mare Pearl (University of New Mexico Press)

Creative Nonfiction

WinnerKissed by a Fox and Other Stories of Friendship in Nature by Priscilla Stuckey (Counterpoint Press)

Childrens/Young Adult Fiction & Nonfiction

WinnerLiberty’s Christmas by Randall Platt (Texas Tech University Press)
FinalistThe Quilt Walk by Sandra Dallas (Sleeping Bear Press)
FinalistOutcasts of River Falls by Jacqueline Guest (Coteau Books)


WinnerSteam Laundry by Nicole Stellon O’Donnell (Red Hen Press) 
FinalistReluctant Traveler by Laurie Wagner Buyer (Seven Oaks Publishing)

Original Softcover Fiction (Trade or Mass Market)

WinnerThe Bones and the Book by Jane Isenberg (Oconee Spirit Press)
FinalistIn Need of a Good Wife by Kelly O’Connor McNees (Berkley/Penguin)
FinalistThe House on Swiss Avenue by Irene Sandell (Eakin Press)

Scholarly Nonfiction

WinnerWomen in Wonderland:  Lives, Legends and Legacies of Yellowstone National Park by Elizabeth A. Watry (Riverbend Publishing)
FinalistDivinely Guided:  The California Work of the Women’s National Indian Association by Valerie Sherer Mathes (Texas Tech University Press)
Finalist Colorado Women:  A History by Gail M. Beaton (University Press of Colorado)

Congratulations all!


What are the WILLA Awards?

The WILLA Literary Awards™ honor the best in literature, featuring women's or girl's stories set in the West that are published each year. Women Writing the West, a non-profit association of writers and other professionals writing and promoting the Women's West, underwrites and presents the nationally recognized awards each year at the WWW Fall Conference. The awards are named in honor of Pulitzer-Prize-winning novelist Willa Cather, one of America's foremost writers.


Kathleen Ernst said...

Congratulations one and all!

Unknown said...

If you believe in yourself and have dedication and pride - and never quit, you'll be a winner. The price of victory is high but so are the rewards. See the link below for more info.